History of the Endicott Cup and Tri-State Matches / Eaton Cup Matches

In 1925, an initial tournament was held at Springfield Country Club (MA), between the Connecticut State Team and the Central Massachusetts District Team. There were nine players per team. A large silver "Kittredge Cup" trophy (purchased from the Kittredge Co) was awarded at this tournament.

In 1926, the first Endicott Cup tournament was held at Hartford Golf Club (CT) as a 36 hole stroke play competition between members of the Connecticut and Massachusetts Women's Golf Associations. The Endicott Cup was presented by Priscilla Maxwell Endicott for the winner of the competition. The first person to win the trophy three times would retire the cup. Edith Baker won the cup in 1926 and 1928 and requested that the trophy be perpetual, with the winner keeping in her possession for the year.

In 1929, Massachusetts (whose membership included Rhode Island) and Connecticut played the Kittredge Cup as a 3rd day match play competition for the nine low gross players from each team. In 1930, Rhode Island joined as a third team and the Kittredge Cup was retired and replaced with the Tri-State trophy.

In 1962, Chris Eaton donated the Eaton Bowl trophy for the net team competition. Players competed for this as well as the Tri-State trophy. Beginning in 1968, a separate team was selected to play for the Eaton trophy.

Today, Endicott Cup competitors play 36-hole stroke play over two days. The seven low gross and seven low net players from each state compete in the Tri-State and Eaton team matches on the third day of the event, with an alternate for each team.

Edith Baker would be pleased to know that although she never won a third Endicott Cup, several players have won at least three times since the onset of the competition:

1932, 1935, 1936 Mrs. Frederick Davis (RI) Dorothy Hunter Beard (MA) 1939, 1940, 1941 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951 Patricia O'Sullivan Lucey (CT) Joanne Goodwin (MA) 1954, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960 1973, 1994, 2013 Mary Carr Gale (MA) 1976, 1979, 1980, 1988, 1993 Lida Kinnicutt Tingley (CT) 2006, 2009, 2010 Tara Joy Connelly (MA) 2012, 2016, 2021 Christine Gagner (MA)