Headline: Starting Times Released For 107th Massachusetts Open Championship; Field of 150 Will Compete on June 13-15 at Worcester Country Club

For Immediate Release: June 2, 2016

Worcester Country Club

Norton, MA — Following a total of six qualifying rounds held at sites across the Bay State, #RoadToWorcester continues as starting times have been released for the 107th Massachusetts Open Championship.

A field of 150 of the top professional and amateur competitors will vie for the Clarence G. Cochrane Memorial Trophy on June 13-15 at Worcester Country Club.


MGA Open Quick Links:


This marks the seventh time that the Worcester facility will serve as host of this MGA Championship Proper.

Winners of the six events held to date are as follows:

1919 – Jesse Guilford (303) by three strokes over Mike Brady
1926 – Donald Vinton (297) by two shots over Mike Brady and Willie Ogg
1931 – Wiffy Cox (292) by eight strokes over Willie MacFarlane
1930 – Byron Nelson (283) by five strokes over Lloyd Mangrum
1952 – Jim Browning (276) by four strokes over amateur Don Moenig
1976 – Paul Barkhouse (211) in playoff over Bob Menne and Bruce Douglas

Here is a summary of the six qualifiers that were held as a prelude - from May 9 to May 31 - to Championship Proper.

At the first qualifying round of the season on May 9, a trio of golfers took the top spot with Derick Fors (Townsend Ridge CC), Mark Stevens (Pembroke, N.H.) and Zack Byrd (Murrells Inlet, SC) each recording scores of 1-under par 71 to lead the field of 12 who qualified in Tyngsboro. Of the 12 qualifiers, three - Griffin Brown (Vesper CC), Steven DiLisio (Salem CC) and Gregg Bonheurr (Andover CC) - qualified as amateurs.

On May 24, the qualifying round saw a range of scores between 1-over par 73 and 3-over par 75, with all but two leaders to qualify having club memberships in Massachusetts. In total, 10 golfers qualified to Championship Proper with another seven individuals who shot 4-over par 76 slated as alternatives.

On May 25, amateurs secured four of the top-five spots, including George Wright GC’s Michael Thorbjornsen who earned medalist honors with a 3-under par 69 round. The reigning MGA Boys Junior Amateur champion and Wellesley Middle School eighth grader became the youngest player to win a Massachusetts Open qualifier at 14 years old, defeating several professional and adult amateur players along the way. Earlier this year, Thorbjornsen was a divisional winner at the Drive, Chip & Putt National Finals held at Augusta National GC.

Ricky Stimets (Oyster Harbors)
enjoyed a perfect day on the Cape by carding a 2-under par 69 in Chatham. Of the 11 qualifiers from that site, a total of six were amateurs, including Derek Schug (Plymouth CC) who was the top finishing amateur with a score of 1-over par 72.

The deepest field from competition came from May 26th’s qualifying round at The Ranch Golf Club, where all 10 qualifiers shot under par. Ryan McCormick (Middletown, N.J.) fired a 5-under par 67, the top score amongst all 2016 competitors. Brendan Lemp (Westerly, RI), Sean Gaudette (Wyckoff CC) and Blake Morris (Southbury, Conn.) each recorded a 4-under par 68. 

Cole Wilco
x (Malvern, PA) finished atop the leaderboard in Sutton with a medalist score of 4-under par 68. Jeff Johnson (Pleasant Valley GC) used his home-course advantage by finishing second with a score of 2-under par 70. Six different states - Pennsylvania, Alabama, Florida, Maine, Colorado and Massachusetts were represented by just the 11 qualifiers.