Headline: A Total of 10 Qualifying Rounds Scheduled in May Through June Now Set for 2017 Massachusetts Amateur Championship

For Immediate Release: January 31, 2017

2017 MGA Amateur Qualifiers include (from top) Waubeeka GL, William J. Devine GC & Marlborough CC.

Norton, MA — For golfers looking to compete at the 2017 Massachusetts Amateur Championship, the wait just became a little less as the MGA unveiled the sites and dates of the qualifiers being held ahead of the Championship Proper later this summer.

The announcement was made Tuesday as the countdown to the MGA’s Online Registration for all 12 of its Championships neared 48 hours.

There will be 10 qualifiers for competitors interested in participating in the 109th playing of the Massachusetts Amateur Championship, the Bay State’s oldest amateur golf championship, beginning on May 30 and taking place at various Massachusetts clubs throughout the month of June. The announcement was made by Kevin Eldridge, the Director of Rules and Competition for the Massachusetts Golf Association.

“We are happy to announce the qualifiers for the MGA Amateur Championship, the state’s oldest and largest amateur golf tournament,” said Eldridge. “Like year’s past, this event is bound to bring the most talented golfers from across the Bay State to compete for the title of MGA Amateur Championship and we are looking forward to once again hosting a wonderful event.”

Ahead of this year’s Massachusetts Amateur Championship, which will be taking place at Newton Centre’s Charles River Country Club July 10-14, MGA members with an active MGA/GHIN Handicap Index not exceeding 4.4 (as determined by the May 1, 2017 Handicap Revision) can register for one of the respective qualifiers.

An exemption list has also been created and can be viewed at: /championships/amateur/amateur_2017exemptions.html
Beginning on May 30 at Bear Hill Golf Club and Townsend Ridge Country Club, an 18-hole qualifier will take place with a to-be-determined number of the lowest scorers plus ties advancing to the Championship Proper. 

Eight others will take place over the next three weeks with sites including Hatherly Country Club (May 31), William J. Devine GC (June 1), Willowbend (June 5), Indian Ridge Country Club and Waubeeka Golf Links (June 7), Marlborough Country Club (June 8), Country Club of Wilbraham (June 20) and Presidents Golf Club (June 21).

Registration for all 10 qualifiers will begin on Thursday, February 2nd at 10 am.

For more information on registering and a complete schedule of all qualifiers, visit the MGA Championship webpage at: /championships/index.html.