Headline: 2017 Massachusetts Amateur Championship Proper Field Gets Another Step Closer to Being Filled; Fourth Day of Qualifying Held at Willowbend CC

For Immediate Release: June 1, 2017

Joe Walker was a co-medalist at Day 4 of MGA Amateur Qualifying held on June 5 at Willowbend CC.

Mashpee, MA — The second week of Massachusetts Amateur Championship qualifying kicked off on Monday, as an additional 14 competitors earned their spot for the Championship Proper, this time at the Bay/Bog course at Willowbend Country Club.

Following Monday’s action, the Championship field has increased its field size to 55 qualifiers with an additional five qualifiers set to take place over the course of the next 16 days.

CLICK HERE for complete results from the Willowbend Country Club qualifying site.

At Willowbend on Monday, Chris Poli (Oakley CC) and Joe Walker (Dennis Pines GC) shot a 3-over par 73 to net medalist honors to lead the field. The Scores ranged from 3-over par 73 to 6-over par 76.

The 55 participants who have now advanced will compete in the 109th playing of the Massachusetts Amateur Championship Proper, which is taking place from July 10-14 at Charles River Country Club in Newton Centre. The annual five-day tournament will begin with stroke play on July 10-11 before the top 32 in the field move on to three days of match play, concluding with a 36-hole contest with the remaining two players to crown the 2017 champion.

An additional eight competitors who shot one stroke above the final qualifying number will be listed as alternates and will be placed on the alternate list per the alternate policy that is available on the MGA Policies and Procedures Page.

Those who qualified from today’s Massachusetts Amateur Championship qualifier are:

Chris Poli (Oakley CC) 73
Joe Walker (Dennis Pines GC)
Will Campbell (Captains GC) 74
Charlie Campbell (Captains GC) 74
Dan Howard (Brookmeadow CC) 74
Casey Mills (LeBaron Hills CC) 74
Chris Butler (Cummaquid GC) 74
Bruce White (Hickory Ridge GC) 75
Joe Brosseau (Springfield CC) 76
Lane Bohman (Eastward Ho!) 76
Michael Arter (LeBaron Hills CC) 76
Christopher Ayers (Wyckoff CC) 76
Brent Dietz (GreatHorse) 76
Jarett Leonard (Segregansett CC) 76

Kyle Spellman (Weston GC) 77
Sean McReynolds (Braintree MGC) 77
Tim Bender (Walpole CC) 77
Ryan Brown (Cape Cod National) 77
Noah Cate (New Seabury) 77
George Bent (Hyannisport Club) 77
Tommy Parker (Thorny Lea GC) 77
Rugo Santini (Oakley CC) 77

Monday’s co-medalist Joe Walker recently finished runner up at the 2017 MGA Senior Four-Ball Championship that was held at Red Tail Golf Club and Shaker Hills Country Club. He and partner Kevin Carey, also a multiple-time MGA champion, fell in a playoff to Daniel Seigenberg and Jim Gerrish of Franklin Country Club.

Five more Massachusetts Amateur qualifiers will be held over the next 16 days. Remaining scheduled qualifying sites include Vesper CC (June 7), Waubeeka GL (June 7), Marlborough CC (June 8), CC of Wilbraham (June 20) and the finale on June 21 at Presidents GC in Quincy.

For continued information regarding the Massachusetts Amateur Championship, visit mgalinks.org or follow the MGA on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram using #MassAm.