Headline: 2017 Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Qualifying Kicks Off at Sandy Burr Country Club; 17 Advance to Championship Proper

For Immediate Release: June 20, 2017

Sandy Burr Country Club hosted the first of six MGA Amateur Public Links qualifiers on June 20.

Wayland, MA — Tuesday may have only been the 40th day of the Championship season, but the official last day of spring marked the beginning of the next event on the MGA calendar.

At Wayland’s Sandy Burr Country Club, 17 competitors advanced to the Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship.

The event, which is unique in that it is the only MGA-sponsored Championship Proper where entries are limited to amateur golfers who are bona fide public course players at a public MGA member club (a course/club that provides playing opportunities for the general public seven days a week), features six local qualifiers before the Championship Proper takes place later this summer at Pinehills Golf Club, which earlier this season hosted a U.S. Open local qualifier.

Leading the charge on Tuesday were three competitors who finished atop the leaderboard in Michael Reily (Tour Greater Boston), Bob Broderick (Juniper Hill GC) and Christian Jensen (Stow Acres CC), who all had matching 3-over par 75 cards.

In addition to the 17 competitors whose scores ranged from 3-over par 75 to 7-over par 79, an additional four competititors who each carded 80’s, or one stroke above the last qualifying number, will be listed as alternates and will be placed on the alternate list per the alternate policy that is available on the MGA Policies and Procedures Page.

The 36th playing of the Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship will take place over over the course of August 8-9 at Pinehills Golf Course. The MGA Championship event will be held on the Nicklaus course.

CLICK HERE for complete results from the Sandy Burr CC qualifier.

Those who qualified from today’s Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship qualifier are:

Michael Reily (Tour Greater Bos) 75
Bob Broderick (Juniper Hill GC) 75
Christian Jensen (Stow Acres CC) 75
Amir Bagherzadeh (Granite Links GC) 76
Brian Steverman (William J. Devine) 76
Eric McPhail (Sandy Burr CC) 77
T.J. Koziol (George Wright GC) 77
John Molta (Oak Ridge GC) 78
Sam Parella (Kettle Brook GC) 78
John Learson (Sandy Burr CC) 78
Benedict Hoeller (Granite Links GC) 78
Daniel Schwartz (Brookline GC) 79
David Holmes (Blackstone GC) 79
Patrick Kline (Sandy Burr CC) 79
Philip Clark (George Wright GC) 79
Michael Fogg (Granite Links GC) 79
Sean Collins (Sandy Burr CC) 79

Heang Tang (Holden Hills CC) 80
Michael Malley (Meadow at Peabody) 80
Marc Vachon (Tour Greater Bos) 80
Tim Walsh (Butter Brook GC) 80

This year, entries for the 2017 Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship saw record registration, with more than 500 entries received. All six qualifying sites were maxed to capacity for the local qualifying events. 

Five more qualifiers will be held over the course of the next 14 days for those seeking entry into the Championship Proper. Starting tomorrow (June 21) at Gardner Municipal GC, local qualifiers will also be held at Cranberry Valley GC (June 26), The Ledges GC (June 27), Bradford CC (June 29) and D.W. Field GC (July 5).

For continued information regarding the Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship, visit mgalinks.org or follow the MGA on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram using #MassAPL.