Headline: Inclement Weather Couldn't Stop the Fourth Day of Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Qualifier Held at The Ledges Golf Club

For Immediate Release: June 27, 2017

The fourth day of MGA Amateur Public Links Qualifying was held on June 27 at The Ledges GC.

South Hadley, MA — Despite the heavy rain showers and severe thunder storms that passed through the Bay State on Tuesday afternoon, another 16 qualifiers in today’s Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship netted spots for the August Championship Proper at Pinehills Golf Club without any problems after qualifying from the Ledges Golf Club site.

With Tuesday’s qualifier, 73 competitors have now earned their spot in the field for August 8-9 Championship Proper in addition to those who have earned exemption.

Justin Mackinnon, of Squirrel Run Golf Course, was medalist on the day with a 4-under par 68 score, courtesy of six birdies, two bogeys and 10 pars while Kevin Wheeler (St. Anne CC) earned a spot in his second MGA Championship Proper of the season with a 3-under par 69 on the afternoon.

In addition to the 16 who qualified, another eight competitors from Tuesday’s round shot a 6-over par 78, or one stroke above the final qualifying spot, to be added to the alternate list. They will be placed on the alternate list per the alternate policy that is available on the MGA Policies and Procedures Page.

The Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship is the only MGA Championship Proper that annually accepts the entries of only those competitors who are amateur golfers and are bona fide public course players at a public MGA member club (a course/club that provides playing opportunities for the general public seven days a week). Tuesday’s MGA Amateur Public Links Championship qualifier was the fourth of six qualifiers on the MGA calendar.

CLICK HERE to access complete results from the qualifier held at The Ledges GC.

A list of qualifiers and alternates is as follows:

Justin Mackinnon (Squirrel Run GC) 68
Kevin Wheeler (St. Anne CC) 69
Owen Elliott (Sandy Burr CC) 71
Ronald Laverdiere (Crumpin-Fox Club) 71
Stephen Demare (George Wright GC) 72
Paul Briggs (Wahconah CC) 72
Al Alminas (Elmcrest CC) 73
Michael Mertes (Wyckoff CC) 73
Troy Miller (Crumpin-Fox Club) 73
Matt Borghi (Blackstone GC) 73
Cody Miller (The Ledges GC) 73
Jacob Zaranek (Crestview CC) 75
Pat Landers (Hickory Ridge GC) 76
Nick Morgan (Wayland CC) 76
Tom Keenan (East Mountain CC) 77
Jim Morin (Veterans Mem. GC) 77

Derek Pinciak (The Ledges GC) 78
Matteo Godek (St. Anne CC) 78
Richard Nangle (Brookline GC) 78
Rick Yarum (Franconia GC) 78
Dave Costa (George Wright GC) 78
Matt Latino (Cyprian Keyes GC) 78
Allen Chase (Westminster CC) 78
William Rockenstein (Norton CC) 78

Two more qualifiers will be held over the course of the next week for those seeking entry into the Championship Proper. Qualifying will be held at Bradford CC (June 29) and conclude at D.W. Field GC on July 5.

For continued information regarding the Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship, visit mgalinks.org or follow the MGA on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram using #MassAPL.