Headline: David Spitz Claims Medalist Honors at D.W. Field Golf Course on Wednesday to Cap Off 2017 Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Qualifying

For Immediate Release: July 5, 2017

The final day of MGA Amateur Public Links Qualifying was held on July 5 at D.W. Field GC.

Brockton, MA — The sixth and final Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship qualifier concluded on Wednesday at Brockton’s D.W. Field Golf Course.

Upon completion of the 18-hole round, it was David Spitz (South Shore CC) who posted the day-low score, a 4-under par 66, to earn medalist honors and earn a spot in next month’s Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship, taking place at Plymouth’s Pinehills Golf Club on August 8-9.

The 35-year old Weymouth resident Spitz, who most recently advanced to the U.S. Open sectional qualifier in early June, registered seven birdies on the day en route to his spot atop the leaderboard.

He led a group of 16 competitors from Wednesday’s qualifier to advance to the Championship Proper with qualifying scores ranging from 4-under par 66 to 6-over par 76.

An additional nine scorers who finished one stroke above the last qualifying score were named alternates and will be placed on a priority list per the Alternate Policy which can be found on the MGA Policies & Procedures page.

The Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship is the only MGA Championship Proper that annually accepts the entries of only those competitors who are amateur golfers and are bona fide public course players at a public MGA member club (a course/club that provides playing opportunities for the general public seven days a week).

Click here for complete results from the D.W. Field Golf Course qualifier. A list of qualifiers from the site is below.

David Spitz (South Shore CC) 66
Matthew Cornuet (Pinehills GC) 69
T.J. Vose (Meadow at Peabody) 70
Carter Fasick (Westborough CC) 70
Jim Doyle (Brookmeadow CC) 71
Adam Trivilino (Hyannis GC) 72
Geoff Osborne (North Hill CC) 72
Jonathan Winn (Norwood CC) 73
Mark Monday (Granite Links GC) 73
Erich Critchley (Pinehills GC) 73
Tom Molinari (Tour Greater Bos) 74
Mike Verde (Easton CC) 74
Nicholas Bean (Poquoy Brook GC) 74
Brad Steever (Norton CC) 74
Christopher Oien (Poquoy Brook GC) 75
Mike Bryan (Braintree MGC) 75

Sean McReynolds (Braintree MGC) 76
Cody Morrison (Pinehills GC) 76
Eddie Dilorenzo (Trull Brook GC) 76
Ryan Derosier (Olde Scotland) 76
Tim Brennan, Jr. (Pinehills GC) 76
George Edwards (Presidents GC) 76
Eric Simonson (BAGS) 76
Brian Clark (Braintree MGC) 76
Michael Zody (Stow Acres CC) 76

The 2017 MGA Amateur Public Links Championship will begin on August 9 at Pinehills Golf Club in Plymouth. The alternate list will be distributed in the coming days and the order of all players listed as qualifiers will be determined at the same time.

For continued information regarding the Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship, visit mgalinks.org or follow the MGA on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram using #MassAPL.