Headline: Second of Four Massachusetts Senior Amateur Qualifiers Held at Pine Brook Country Club; 19 Competitors Advance to Championship Proper

For Immediate Release: August 15, 2017

Pine Brook CC hosted the second of four Massachusetts Senior Amateur qualifiers on August 15.

Weston, MA — The second of four qualifiers ahead of the 2017 Massachusetts Senior Amateur Championship took place on Tuesday, as 19 competitors advanced from host site Pine Brook Country Club in Weston to the Championship Proper, taking place next month at nearby Oakley Country Club in Watertown.

Click here for complete results from the Pine Brook CC qualifier.

With 74 in the field, it was those 19 competitors who shot between 2-over par 72 and 8-over par 78 to advance to the Proper, taking place on September 18-19. They join the seven competitors who qualified last week at Springfield Country Club.

In addition to the 19 players who advanced Tuesday, another five competitors who shot 9-over par 79, or one shot above the final qualifying spot, were named alternates and will added to the Alternate List per the MGA Alternate Policy, which can be found on the MGA Policies and Procedures webpage.

This year’s MGA Senior Amateur Championship will be the second held at Oakley Country Club after the 1987 Championship Proper, won by John Gargalianos, was also held at the club.

Entries are open to amateur golfers who have reached their 55th birthday by September 18, 2017 and who have an active MGA/GHIN Handicap Index at any public, private, semi-private, municipal or non-real estate MGA member course/club not exceeding 8.0 (as determined by the July 1, 2017 Handicap Revision) or have completed their handicap certification.

The following competitors advanced from Tuesday’s Massachusetts Senior Amateur Championship.

Dan Toomey (Charles River CC) 72
Bud Schultz (Black Rock CC) 73
Rod MacNeil (Orchards GC) 75
Mike Regan (Tour Greater Bos) 75
Kevin Nery (CC of New Bedford) 76
Bryon Collins (Sandy Burr CC) 77
Stephen Howard (Fresh Pond GC) 77
Bill Jenks (Brae Burn CC) 77
Jerry Markham (Wenham CC) 77
Derek Johnson (Highland CC) 77
James Mihalek (Charter Oak CC) 77
Colin Ahern (Indian Ridge CC) 77
Stephen Keegan (Lexington GC) 78
Mike Armonstrong (Bear Hill GC) 78
Mark McCormick (Harmon GC) 78
David Cancian (Oakley CC) 78
Mark Chylinski (Cranwell R & GC) 78
Robert Bogart (Salem CC) 78
Robert McKenna (Black Swan CC) 78

Chris Simon (Woodland GC) 79
Greg Murray (Andover CC) 79
John McCarthy (Woodland GC) 79
John Jaskul (Vesper CC) 79
David Holmes (Blackstone GC) 79

The final two qualifiers of the MGA Senior Amateur Championship will held over the course of the next Monday’s. The first is scheduled on August 21 at Willowbend Country Club while qualifying season will wrap up on August 28 at Marshfield Country Club.

For continued information regarding the Massachusetts Senior Amateur Championship, visit mgalinks.org or follow the MGA on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram using #MassSenior.