Headline: Thorny Lea Golf Club Hosts Third 2017 Massachusetts Mid-Amateur Qualifying; 15 Advance to Next Month's Championship Proper

For Immediate Release: August 23, 2017

Thorny Lea GC hosted the third of six Massachusetts Mid-Amateur qualifiers on August 23.

Brockton, MA — Thorny Lea Golf Club has seen its fair share of champions this season as three of the nine MGA Championship Propers to date on the 2017 calendar have hailed from the Brockton club while many players from the club have been victorious on the regional golf circuit.

On Wednesday, the club once again did its part to pave the way for a fourth champion as the third of six 2017 Massachusetts Mid-Amateur Championship qualifiers saw 15 competitors advance to the Championship Proper taking place in just over a month at Franklin Country Club.

At the conclusion of play, those 15 players shot between even par 70 and 6-over par 76 to qualify.

Click here for complete results from the Thorny Lea GC qualifier.

In addition to the 15 qualifiers, which increased the field size to 47 with three qualifying sites remaining, an additional three competitors who shot 7-over par 77, or one stroke more than the final qualifying spot, were added to the alternate list per the alternate policy, which can be found on the MGA Policy and Procedures webpage.

The 34th MGA Mid-Amateur Championship is open to amateur golfers who have reached their 25th birthday by September 25, 2017 and who have an active MGA/GHIN Handicap Index at any public, private, semi-private, municipal or non-real estate MGA member course/club not exceeding 5.4 (as determined by the July 15, 2017 Handicap Revision) or have completed their handicap certification.

The following competitors advanced to the Championship Proper, taking place at Franklin Country Club from September 25-27.

Jason Cook (Pine Oaks GC) 70
Brian Higgins (Franklin CC) 71
Mike Powers (Cyprian Keyes GC) 72
Joe Dimarzio (Plymouth CC) 73
Alex Jacobson (Presidents GC) 74
Ryan Crough (Cohasset GC) 75
Keith Orlen (Framingham CC) 75
Michael Kuzara (George Wright GC) 75
Mike Marshall (Thorny Lea GC) 75
Kyle Kelly (Franklin CC) 76
Scott Dicicco (Framingham CC) 76
Derek Schug (Plymouth CC) 76
Ryan Derosier (Olde Scotland) 76
Pat Johnson (Indian Pond CC) 76
Ted Matwijec (Sandy Burr CC) 76

Robert Mancini (Thorny Lea GC) 77
Sean Crowley (Cohasset GC) 77
Jack Hughes (Thorny Lea GC) 77

Three more Massachusetts Mid-Amateur Championship qualifiers will be held across the Bay State until the end of the month. This week’s streak of four straight Mass Mid Amateur qualifiers will wrap up tomorrow, August 24, at Weston Golf Club before the final two qualifiers will be held at Chicopee Country Club and Olde Barnstable FGC on August 29 and August 31, respectively.

For continued information regarding the Massachusetts Mid-Amateur Championship, visit mgalinks.org or follow the MGA on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram using #MassMidAm.