Headline: 2017 Massachusetts Senior Amateur Championship Field Now Set; Final 13 Qualifiers Advance at Marshfield Country Club

For Immediate Release: August 28, 2017

Marshfield CC hosted the final Massachusetts Senior Amateur qualifiers on August 28.

Marshfield, MA — The 2017 Massachusetts Senior Amateur Championship field continued to take shape on Monday as the last leg of qualifiers was held at Marshfield Country Club, where 13 competitors netted their spots in next month’s Championship Proper at Watertown’s Oakley Country Club. 

Click here for complete results from the Marshfield CC qualifier.

With 66 in the field, it was those 13 competitors who shot between 1-over par 71 and 6-over par 66 to advance to the Proper, taking place on September 18-19. Today’s group of players join the 36 other competitors who have qualified from Springfield Country Club, Pinebrook Country Club and Willowbend on each of the past three Monday’s. They’ll be joined by those competitors who were exempt from qualifying plus any additional players who were named alternates at any of the respective qualifiers.

In addition to the 13 players who advanced Monday, an additional six competitors who shot 7-over par 77, or one shot above the final qualifying spot, were named alternates and will added to the Alternate List per the MGA Alternate Policy, which can be found on the MGA Policies and Procedures webpage.

This year’s MGA Senior Amateur Championship will be the second held at Oakley Country Club after the 1987 Championship Proper, won by John Gargalianos, was also held at the club.

Entries are open to amateur golfers who have reached their 55th birthday by September 18, 2017 and who have an active MGA/GHIN Handicap Index at any public, private, semi-private, municipal or non-real estate MGA member course/club not exceeding 8.0 (as determined by the July 1, 2017 Handicap Revision) or have completed their handicap certification.

The following competitors advanced from Monday’s Massachusetts Senior Amateur Championship.

David Pierce (CC of Halifax) 71
Danny Brown (Vesper CC) 73
Patrick Kline (Sandy Burr CC) 73
Rich Miller (Boston GC) 74
Kevin O’Connor (Marshfield CC) 74
Jeffrey Stewart (Marshfield CC) 74
James Irving (Crestwood CC) 74
Herbert Morrison (Marshfield CC) 75
Michael Kaloyanides (Walpole CC) 75
Daniel Walker (Dennis Pines GC) 76
Rey LeMaine (Sandy Burr CC) 76
Robert Curran (Kittansett Club) 76
Scott St. Clair (Brae Burn CC) 76

Kevin Queally, Jr. (Charles River CC) 77
Andrew Lemelman (Wollaston GC) 77
Carter Fasick (Westborough CC) 77
Paul Couture (Pleasant Valley CC) 77
Bob Meehan (Presidents GC) 77
Chuck Costerllo (Ferncroft CC) 77

Pairings and tee times for the 2017 Massachusetts Senior Amateur Championship will be published in the coming days in addition to the rankings for alternate list. All players in the field will receive communications determining each.

For continued information regarding the Massachusetts Senior Amateur Championship, visit mgalinks.org or follow the MGA on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram using #MassSenior.