2018 Open Championship Exemptions - MASSGOLF

2018 open Exemptions

The following individuals are exempt for the 2018 Open Championship.

Although exempt according to the conditions and regulations of the event, these players are only eligible to compete in Championship Proper if they submit the stipulated entry form and fee prior to the entry close date.

Category #1

Twenty (20) lowest scorers and ties in the 2017 Massachusetts Open Championship

Jason Thresher

Chris Houston

Josh Salah

John Clare

Billy Walthouse

Chelso Barrett

Eric Barlow

Michael Thorbjorsen

Robin Byrd

Bobby Gage

Geoffrey Sisk

Brad Adamonis

Cian Curley

Thomas Stirling

David Schuster

Blake Morris

Louis Kelly

Frank Dully

John Flaherty

Pat Wilson

Burgess Houston

Shawn Warren


Category #2

Past Massachusetts Open Champions (Effective in 1993, Champions earn a 10-year exemption; pre-1993 Champions are exempt for life)

2017 – Jason Thresher

2016 – Jason Thresher

2015 – Joe Harney

2014 – Ian Thimble

2013 – Evan Harmeling

2012 – Michael Welch

2011 – Kyle Gallo

2010 – James Hazen

2009 – Rob Oppenheim

2008 – James Renner


Category #3

NEPGA Section Champions 2013 to 2016, and the top five (5) finishers and ties in the 2017 NEPGA Championship

2013 – Shawn Warren

2014 – Rich Berberian, Jr.

2015 – Shawn Warren

2016 – Matt Doyle

2017 NEPGA Championship (Top 5 & ties)

1 – Liam Friedman

2 – Ron Philo

3 – Rich Berberian, Jr.

4 – Robert Bruso

5 – Sean McTernan


Category #4

Top twenty (20) finishers and ties in the 2017 Skip Wogan point standings

Rich Berberian, Jr.

Eric Barlow

Shawn Warren

Kirk Hanefeld

Liam Friedman

Jeffrey Martin

Jeff Seavey

Matt Zdon

Matt Arvanitis

John Hickson

Frank Dully

Brian Owens

Matt Doyle

Ron Philo

Chris Carter

Chris Trout

Robert Bruso

Sean McTernan

Greg Farland

Troy Pare


Category #5

2017 NEPGA Assistants Champion

Shawn Warren


Category #6

2017 Berkshire Chapter Champion of the NENY PGA

Josh Hillman


Category #7

2017 State Open Champions from the New England States

MA – Jason Thresher

RI – Michael Carbone

NH – David Pastore

VT – Peter French

CT – Jeff Evanier

ME – James Dornes


Category #8

2017 Cape Cod Open Champion

Joshua Eure


Category #9

Amateur Champions of the last five (5) years

2017 – Matt Parziale

2016 – Brendan Hunter

2015 – Nick McLaughlin

2014 – John Kelly

2013 – Mike Calef


Category #10

2017 Amateur Semifinalists

Billy Walthouse

Matt Cowgill

Jackson Lang

Matt Parziale


Category #11

2017 Junior Amateur, Senior Amateur, Mid-Amateur, and Amateur Public Links Champions

Jr – Dillion Brown

Sr – Keith Smith

Mid – Colin Brennan

APL – Benjamin Spitz


Category #12

Top ten (10) finishers and ties in the 2017 Richard D. Haskell Player of the Year standings

Matt Parziale

Billy Walthouse

Matt Cowgill

Herbie Aikens

Matt Naumec

Jackson Lang

David Spitz

Nick Maccario

Mark Turner

Steven DiLisio


Category #13

2017 Player of the Year, Junior Player of the Year and Senior Player of the Year

Matt Parziale

Mark Turner

Frank Vana, Jr.


Category #14

2018 Open Qualifying Host Professionals (one per site)

Eastward Ho!

CC of Wilbraham

Indian Pond CC

Pleasant Valley CC

Kernwood CC

Nashawtuc CC