2019 Open Championship Exemptions - MASSGOLF

2019 open Exemptions

The following individuals are exempt for the 2019 Open Championship.

Although exempt according to the conditions and regulations of the event, these players are only eligible to compete in Championship Proper if they submit the stipulated entry form and fee prior to the entry close date.

Category #1

Twenty (20) lowest scorers and ties in the 2018 Massachusetts Open Championship

Jason Thresher

Evan Harmeling

Clark Robinson

Matthew Campbell

Peter French

Zach Zaback

Brad Adamonis

John Stoltz

Bobby Gage

Josh Salah

Shawn Warren

Luke Graboyes

Blake Morris

Christopher Gentle

James Driscoll

Michael Martel

Cian Curley

Brett Krekorian (a)

Jim Renner

Pat Wilson

Jesse Larson

Louis Kelly

Ryan Gendron


Category #2

Past Massachusetts Open Champions (Effective in 1993, Champions earn a 10-year exemption; pre-1993 Champions are exempt for life)

2018 – Jason Thresher

2017 – Jason Thresher

2016 – Jason Thresher

2015 – Joe Harney

2014 – Ian Thimble

2013 – Evan Harmeling

2012 – Michael Welch

2011 – Kyle Gallo

2010 – James Hazen

2009 – Rob Oppenheim


Category #3

NEPGA Section Champions 2014 to 2017, and the top five (5) finishers and ties in the 2018 NEPGA Championship

2014 – Rich Berberian, Jr.

2015 – Rich Berberian, Jr.

2016 – Matt Doyle

2017 – Liam Friedman

2018 NEPGA Championship (Top 5 & ties)

1 – Rich Berberian, Jr.

2 – Jeffrey Martin

3 – Shawn Warren

4 – Kirk Hanefeld

5 – Liam Friedman


Category #4

Top twenty (20) finishers and ties in the 2018 Skip Wogan point standings

Shawn Warren

Rich Berberian

Liam Friedman

Kirk Hanefeld

Jeff Martin

Brendon Ray

Robert Bruso

Rick Karbowski

Matt Zdon

Eric Barlow

Steven Hausmann

Adam Kolloff

Jeff Seavey

Matt Doyle

Frank Dully

David Jankowski

John Paesani

Chip Johnson

Matt Arvanitis

David Bennett


Category #5

2018 NEPGA Assistants Champion

Robert Brusso


Category #6

2018 Berkshire Chapter Champion of the NENY PGA

Josh Hillman


Category #7

2018 State Open Champions from the New England States

MA – Jason Thresher

RI – John VanDerLaan

NH – Jason Thresher

VT – Alex Rainville

CT – John VanDerLaan

ME – Matthew Campbell


Category #8

2018 Cape Cod Open Champion

Ryan McCormick


Category #9

Amateur Champions of the last five (5) years

2018 – Patrick Frodigh

2017 – Matt Parziale

2016 – Brendan Hunter

2015 – Nick McLaughlin

2014 – John Kelly


Category #10

2018 Amateur Semifinalists

Herbie Aikens

Patrick Frodigh

Andrew O’Leary

Alex Jamieson


Category #11

2018 Junior Amateur, Senior Amateur, Mid-Amateur, and Amateur Public Links Champions

Jr – James Imai

Sr – Frank Vana, Jr.

Mid – Frank Vana, Jr.

APL – Owen Quinn


Category #12

Top ten (10) finishers and ties in the 2018 Richard D. Haskell Player of the Year standings

Matt Parziale

Herbie Aikens

Patrick Frodigh

Jackson Lang

Alex Jamieson

Jason Cook

Andrew O’Leary

Tommy Parker

Sean Fitzpatrick

Mike Calef


Category #13

2018 Player of the Year, Junior Player of the Year and Senior Player of the Year

Matt Parziale

James Imai

Frank Vana, Jr.


Category #14

2019 Open Qualifying Host Professionals (one per site)

Eastward Ho!

Salem CC

Granite Links GC

CC of Pittsfield

Pleasant Valley CC

GC at Turner Hill