2020 Open Championship Exemptions - MASSGOLF

2020 open Exemptions

The following individuals are exempt for the 2020 Open Championship.

Although exempt according to the conditions and regulations of the event, these players are only eligible to compete in Championship Proper if they submit the stipulated entry form and fee prior to the entry close date.

Category #1

Twenty (20) lowest scorers and ties in the 2019 Massachusetts Open Championship

Michael Martel

Ryan Gendron

Jake Shuman

Jamison Sindelar

Christopher Crawford

Bobby Gage

Mark Purrington

Zach Zaback

Colin Brennan

Shawn Warren

Chris Wiatr

Matt Hardman

Herbie Aikens

Jason Thresher

Sam Grindle

Brad Adamonis

Matthew Lowe

Rich Berbarian, Jr.

Clark Robinson

Jonathan Scano

Michael Graboyes

Nick Maccario

Chandler Morris

Mike Van Sickle

Pat Wilson

Tim Carey


Category #2

Past Massachusetts Open Champions (Effective in 1993, Champions earn a 10-year exemption; pre-1993 Champions are exempt for life)

2019 – Michael Martel

2018 – Jason Thresher

2017 – Jason Thresher

2016 – Jason Thresher

2015 – Joe Harney

2014 – Ian Thimble

2013 – Evan Harmeling

2012 – Michael Welch

2011 – Kyle Gallo

2010 – James Hazen


Category #3

NEPGA Section Champions 2015 to 2018, and the top five (5) finishers and ties in the 2019 NEPGA Championship

2015 – Rich Berberian, Jr.

2016 – Matt Doyle

2017 – Liam Friedman

2018 – Rich Berberian, Jr.

2019 NEPGA Championship (Top 5 & ties)

1 – Shawn Warren

2 – David Bennett

3 – Eric Barlow

4 – Seul-Ki Park

5 – David Jankowski


Category #4

Top twenty (20) finishers and ties in the 2019 Skip Wogan point standings

Rich Berbarian

Shawn Warren

Robert Bruso

Liam Friedman

Eric Barlow

David Bennett

Kirk Hanefeld

Steven Hausmann

David Jankowski

Jeff Martin

Troy Pare

Matt Zdon

Seul-Ki Park

Rico Riciputi

Dan Venezio

Danny Kish

Kevin Rhoads

John Hickson

Boomer Erick

Christopher Abbott


Category #5

2019 NEPGA Assistants Champion

Gregory Kelly


Category #6

2019 Berkshire Chapter Champion of the NENY PGA

Steve Mazzariello


Category #7

2019 State Open Champions from the New England States

MA – Michael Martel

RI – Rob Labritz

NH – Michael Kartrude

VT – Chris Wiatr

CT – Ramsey Kong

ME – Jason Millard


Category #8

2019 Cape Cod Open Champion

Sean Kelly


Category #9

Amateur Champions of the last five (5) years

2019 – Steven DiLisio

2018 – Patrick Frodigh

2017 – Matt Parziale

2016 – Brendan Hunter

2015 – Nick McLaughlin


Category #10

2019 Amateur Semifinalists

Steven DiLisio

Jack Boulger

Jimmy Hervol

Brett Krekorian


Category #11

2019 Junior Amateur, Senior Amateur, Mid-Amateur, and Amateur Public Links Champions

Jr – James Imai

Sr – Jack Kearney

Mid – Nick Maccario

APL – Ryan Riley


Category #12

Top ten (10) finishers and ties in the 2019 Richard D. Haskell Player of the Year standings

Matt Parziale

Nick Maccario

Herbie Aikens

Steven DiLisio

Brett Krekorian

Jimmy Hervol

Ryan Riley

Jack Boulger

Xavier Marcoux

Jacob Zaranek


Category #13

2019 Player of the Year, Junior Player of the Year and Senior Player of the Year

Matt Parziale

James Imai

Frank Vana, Jr.


Category #14

2020 Open Qualifying Host Professionals (one per site)

Kernwood CC

Pleasant Valley CC

CC of Pittsfield

Bay Club at Mattapoisett

Pine Brook CC

Ocean Edge Resort & CC

Taconic GC (championship proper)