2024 Open Championship Exemptions - MASSGOLF

2024 open Exemptions

The following individuals are exempt for the 2024 Open Championship.

Although exempt according to the conditions and regulations of the event, these players are only eligible to compete in Championship Proper if they submit the stipulated entry form and fee prior to the entry close date.


Category #1

Twenty (20) lowest scorers and ties in the 2023 Massachusetts Open Championship

David Pastore

Jason Thresher

Nicholas Pandelena

Mike Van Sickle

Ricky Stimets (a)

Brad Adamonis

John Clare

Jack Bougler (a)

JT Barker

Berk Harvey

Peter French

Joey Lane

Joey Lenane (a)

Ethan Whitney (a)

Jacob Finard (a)

Jack Tobin (a)

Ben Reichert

Chris Wiatr

Max Theodorakis

John Broderick (a)


Category #2

Past Massachusetts Open Champions (Effective in 1993, Champions earn a 10-year exemption; pre-1993 Champions are exempt for life)

2023 – David Pastore

2022 – Michael Karturde

2021 – Rob Labritz

2020 – Event not held

2019 – Michael Martel

2018 – Jason Thresher

2017 – Jason Thresher

2016 – Jason Thresher

2015 – Joe Harney

2014 – Ian Thimble


Category #3

NEPGA Section Champions 2019 to 2022, and the top five (5) finishers and ties in the 2023 NEPGA Championship

2019 – Shawn Warren

2020 – Shawn Warren

2021 – Rich Berberian

2022 – Liam Friedman


2023 NEPGA Championship (Top 5 & ties)

Rich Berberian

Eric Barlow

Brendon Ray

Robert Bruso

Sean Irons

Shawn Warren


Category #4

Top twenty (20) finishers and ties in the 2023 NEPGA Skip Wogan Player of the Year standings

Rich Berberian

Shawn Warren

Robert Bruso

Eric Barlow

Jeff Martin

Brendon Ray

Ed Kirby

David Jankowski

Kirk Hanefeld

Frank Dully

Jason Calhoun

Greg Kelly

Robert Tramonti

Liam Friedman

Andrew Stolze

Dan Venezio

David Bennett

Peter Ruymann

Ben Egan

Frank Leja


Category #5

2023 NEPGA Assistants Champion

Liam Friedman


Category #6

2023 Berkshire Chapter Champion of the NENY PGA

Eric Mabee


Category #7

2023 State Open Champions from the New England States

MA – David Pastore

RI – David Pastore

NH – Lachy Barker

VT – Matthew Paradis

CT – Brett Stegmaier

ME – Caleb Manuel


Category #8

2023 Jim & Lois Gaquin Memorial Cape Cod Open Champion

Event not held


Category #9

The top Mass Golf member club affiliated finisher in the 2023 Connectitcut Section PGA Player of the Year Standings. Ties in the standings will be broken by the 2022 POY standings (then 2021 etc.).

Chris Tallman


Category #10

Amateur Champions of the last five (5) years

2023 – Ryan Downes

2022 – Conner Willett

2021 – Michael Thorbjornsen

2020 – Matthew Organisak

2019 – Steven DiLisio


Category #11

2022 Amateur Semifinalists

Ryan Downes

John Broderick

Joe Harney

Matthew Naumec


Category #12

2023 Junior Amateur, Senior Amateur, Mid-Amateur, and Amateur Public Links Champions

Junior – Carson Erick

Senior – Scott Copeland

Mid-Am – Ricky Stimets

APL – Ben Spitz


Category #13

Top ten (10) finishers and ties in the 2023 Richard D. Haskell Player of the Year standings

Ricky Stimets

John Broderick

Ryan Downes

Joey Lenane

Matt Parziale

Nick Maccario

Matt Naumec

Bill Drohen

Joe Harney

Weston Jones


Category #14

2023 Player of the Year, Junior Player of the Year, and Senior Player of the Year

POY  – Ricky Stimets

Junior POY – Ryan Downes

Senior POY – Frank Vana, Jr.


Category #15

2024 Open Qualifying Site Host Professional Staff (one per site)

Kernwood CC

CC of Pittsfield

Walpole CC

Pleasant Valley CC

Allendale CC

Pocasset GC