Krueger, Hecimovich Team Up To Win Curtis Bowl Scotch - MASSGOLF

Krueger, Hecimovich Best Field By Five Strokes At The Cape Club Of Sharon


SHARON, Massachusetts – Cheryl Krueger and Barb Hecimovich have only teamed up twice, but the results have been promising for them each time.

After finishing as runners-up in the Eleanore I Labonte Tournament last year, Krueger (Orchards GC) and Hecimovich (Beverly G&TC) combined to win the Curtis Bowl Scotch tournament as their score of 5-over-par 77 bested the field by five strokes Tuesday at The Cape Club of Sharon.


“We’re partners by substitution,” said Krueger, who won the Curtis Bowl with Carol Carey in 2003 and 2004.

“We’re both very even-tempered,” Hecimovich added. “We don’t get too excited or too down we just keep plugging.”

In the Scotch format, golfers hit off alternate tees (player 1 hits drive on the first hole, then player 2 hits drive on the second hole) and then play alternate shot into the hole.

Cheryl Krueger, left, and Barb Hecimovich won the Curtis Bowl Scotch for the first time as a pairing. (Mass Golf)

Krueger and Hecimovich got off to a strong start as they made birdie on the third and fifth holes to finish even-par 36 on the front nine. In total, they only had one three-putt as they made par or better 12 times. They also avoided hitting into any hazards or taking penalty strokes.

“It was just consistent steady golf,” Hecimovich said. “We hit fairways and we hit a lot of greens.”

Elizabeth Derwin (Brookmeadow CC) and Kris Henderson (Bedrock GC) finished in second place at 10-over, while Net Division winners Kim Walecka and Patricia Ansay, of Country Club of New Bedford, finished T3 with Oakley CC’s Sharon Hayes and Jill Barres. Walecka and Ansay finished with five net birdies to finished 3-under 69.

Three teams finished with a net score of 1-over-par 73, but Christine Torpey (Brookmeadow CC) and Frances Rush (Reservation GC) won the tiebreaker (back six scores) to place second, while Alison Kirchgasser (LPGA Amateurs Boston) and Sally DeGan (LPGA Amateurs Boston) placed third, and Linda Goulet (Presidents GC) and Sheila Monterastelli (Hopkinton CC) took home honorable mention.


Established in 1955, the Curtis Bowl was named after national champions and Mass Golf Hall of Famer members, Harriot and Margaret Curtis. The Curtis Bowl trophy is a replica of the Curtis Cup, which the sisters had donated in 1927 for the biennial women’s amateur competition between the United States and Great Britain & Ireland.

The first tournament took place in 1956 at Essex County Club, the home of the Curtis sisters, and it has always maintained the Scotch format.

The Curtis Bowl only took place in Sharon one other time, as Fay Deruvo & Joanne Catlin won it in 1994 back when the course was called Spring Valley Country Club.

For more information regarding Mass Golf events, visit or follow @PlayMassGolf on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. To join the conversation, use the hashtag #MassGolf.