13 Qualify for Mass Amateur Championship at Foxborough Wednesday - MASSGOLF

13 added to Massachusetts amateur championship field

for immediate release: june 6, 2018

FOXBOROUGH, Massachusetts – On the fifth day of qualifying for the 2018 Massachusetts Amateur Championship, being contested from July 9-13 at William J. Devine Golf Course and George Wright Golf Course in Boston, 13 competitors from Wednesday’s qualifier, held at Foxborough Country Club, earned entrance into the Championship Proper.


Celebrating its 110th year in 2018, the Massachusetts Amateur Championship remains the oldest Mass Golf Championship open to men and women alike.

Eight additional competitors, who finished one spot below the final qualifying spot, earned alternate status and will be placed on a priority list per the Alternate Policy, which can be found on the Mass Golf Policies and Procedures Page.

For the second straight day of qualifying, 4-under was the number needed to earn medalist honors at a Massachusetts Amateur Championship qualifier, as Jason Cook (Pine Oaks GC) played bogey-free golf to complete his 18-hole round at 4-under 68 to advance to the Championship Proper.

Cook, a former Francis Ouimet Memorial Tournament champion who represented the Bay State at last year’s Tri-State Matches, made birdie on the two par-4’s on the front nine and two par-5’s on the back nine to lead the day.

Cook’s 4-under par performance follows a 4-under 67 carded by Owen Quinn on Tuesday at Gardner Municipal Golf Course, which also earned medalist honors and secured a spot in next month’s Championship Proper.

Vesper’s Ben Fodiman fired even-par 72 while 11 others finished between 1-over 73 and 3-over 75 to advance. 


Jason Cook (Pine Oaks GC) 68

Brett Fodiman (Vesper CC) 72

Ben Balter (Weston GC) 73

Joseph Iacona (Maynard GC) 73

Jared Winiarz (NEPGA Jr. Tour) 73

Keith Stone (Nabnasset Lake CC) 74

Adam Bourque (Foxborough CC) 74

Connor Henderson (Hopkinton CC) 74

Bill Drohen (Brookmeadow CC) 74

Theodore Lederhausen (George Wright GC) 74

Sam Bush (George Wright GC) 75

Dan Frodigh (Dedham C&PC) 75

Brian Cain (Segregansett CC) 75


Brian Valencia (Marlborough CC) 76

Robert Blackmar (Wachusett CC) 76

Chad Stumpo (Blue Hill CC) 76

James Ashcroft (Sharon CC) 76

Andrew Depetrillo (Blue Hill CC) 76

Aidan McCloskey (The Haven CC) 76

Michael Riley (Sterling National) 76

Tim Bender (Walpole CC) 76


The 110th Massachusetts Amateur Championship will kick off the week of July 9 at Boston’s William J. Devine Golf Course and George Wright Golf Course and will consist of two days of stroke play for all competitors, before the field is cut to the top-32 players, who will compete in three days of match play before crowning a champion. The remaining qualifiers for the state amateur will be held at the following sites.

June 7 – Hickory Ridge GC

June 7 – Bass Rocks GC

June 18 – Oakley CC

June 18 – Cranberry Valley GC (Rescheduled from June 4)


For complete coverage of the 2018 Massachusetts Amateur Championship, visit massgolf.org or follow Mass Golf on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram at @PlayMassGolf and by using the hashtag, #MassAm.