2018 Junior Amateur Championship Exemptions - MASSGOLF

2018 junior Amateur Exemptions

The following individuals are exempt for the 2018 Junior Amateur Championship.

Although exempt according to the conditions and regulations of the event, these players are only eligible to compete in Championship Proper if they submit the stipulated entry form and fee prior to the entry close date.

Category #1

2017 Champions of the Junior, Pre-Junior and Young Golfers’ Amateur, if eligible.

Dillon Brown

Michael Thorbjornsen

Joseph Lenane


Category #2

Any previous overall Junior Amateur Champion, if eligible.

James Imai

Dillon Brown


Category #3

Any Massachusetts Junior player who qualified for the 2017 U.S. Junior Amateur Championship, if eligible.

Alex Jamieson

Andrew Michienzi

Andrew O’Leary


Category #4

The top fifteen (15) finishers and ties from the 2017 Christopher Cutler Rich Junior Player of the Year standings, if eligible.

Mark Turner

Michael Thorbjornsen

Andrew O’Leary

Dillon Brown

Alex Jamieson

James Imai

Jonathan Elkins

Andrew Michienzi

Nick Cummings

James Tyer

Collin Fitzpatrick

Chris Francoeur

Jack Boulger

Thomas Roberts

Samuel Taraian

Mac Lee


Category #5

From the 2017 Junior Amateur Championship, the top five (5) finishers and ties from the Young Golfers’ Junior Amateur Championship, the top ten (10) finishers and ties from the Pre-Junior Division, and the top twenty (20) finishers and ties from the Junior Division, if eligible.

Young Golfers’ Amateur Championship

Joseph Lenane

James Robbins

John Broderick

Sam Hood

Nicolai Spangenberg

Sean Dully


Pre-Junior Division

Michael Thorbjornsen

Jack O’Donnell

Max Hutter

Connor Willett

Joe Paolucci

Tucker Gullbrandts

Charles Ma

Will Campbell


Junior Division

Dillon Brown

Andrew O’Leary

Alex Jamieson

Mark Turner

Thomas Roberts

James Imai

Andrew Giacchetto

Xavier Marcoux

Andrew Dipetrillo

Eric Lifson

Jack O’Donnell

Chris Francoeur

Brendan Cronin

Nathan Ingram

Matteo Godek

Jack Tobin

Collin Fitzpatrick

Jack Hogan

Noah Peterson

Brendan Frain

Jack Phelan


Category #6

The top ten (10) finishers and ties from 2017 the MIAA Division 1, 2 & 3 State Championships, if eligible.

Division 1

Holden Elleston

Jack O’Donnell

Jack Tobin

Mac Lee

Ray Dennehy

James Imai

Nathan Ingram

Tim Murphy

Kyle Mahoney

Peter Wurszt

Drew Semons

Connor O’Toole


Division 2

Andrew O’Leary

Brian Cannata

Jared Mscisz

Matt Epstein

Matt Conti

Jared Winiarz

Zach Farrell

Trevor Lopez

Rich Miller

Sam Hood

Will Campbell


Division 3

Christian Emmerich

Chris Merritt

Nick Cummings

Jack Fechter

JJ Newcombe

James Tyer

Aiden Emmerich

Jarod Buffone

Noah Cate

Nick Hampoian


Category #7

The top eight (8) finishers and ties from the 2018 ISL Kingman Bowl Tournament & top eight (8) finishers and ties from the 2017 EIL Tournament, if eligible.


2017 EIL Championship

David Rogers

Jake Bennett

Jacob McAllister

Ross Spearman

Shane McCarthy

Robby O’Brien

Jacob Florene

Marco Calbanese


2018 ISL Kingman Bowl

Alex Yun (Buckingham Browne & Nichols)

Andrew Giacchetto (St. Sebastian’s)

Nick Li (Brooks)

Tao Ishizuka (Governor’s Academy)

Mario Oliva (St. Sebastian’s)

Conner Willett (Belmont Hill)

Jason Temel (Noble and Greenough)

Bobby Manion (Belmont Hill)


Category #8

The top ten (10) finishers and ties from the 2017 US Challenge Cup, NEPGA and CTPGA Player of the Year standings, if eligible.


2017 US Challenge Cup POY Standings



2017 NEPGA Junior POY Standings

16-18 Division

Jason Temel

Lucas Dascoli

Tucker Dow

Phil Conway

Erik Wahlstrom

Armaan Singh

Michael Simonelli

John Gallagher

James Willson

Heath Maccallum


14-15 Division

Teddy Freking

Gavin Graybill

Connor Kennedy

Thomas Singleton

Colby Flanders

David D’Agostino

Samuel Gerry

Benjamin Sapovits

Frederick Curtis III

Tyler Brown


2017 CTPGA Junior POY Standings

Noah Straub

Justin Mathew

Austin Rupp

Matthew Chorches

Jackson Roman

Kevin Lynch

Matthew Doyle

Luke Carroll

Jared Walter

Nathan L’Heureux


Category #9

2017 NEGA Junior Amateur Invitational Individual Champion, if eligible

Cole Anderson