2023 Open Championship Exemptions - MASSGOLF

2023 open Exemptions

The following individuals are exempt for the 2023 Open Championship.

Although exempt according to the conditions and regulations of the event, these players are only eligible to compete in Championship Proper if they submit the stipulated entry form and fee prior to the entry close date.


Category #1

Twenty (20) lowest scorers and ties in the 2022 Massachusetts Open Championship

Michael Kartrude

Peter Knade

Matt Naumec (a)

Ethan Whitney (a)

Mike Van Sickle

Michael Sweeney

Peter French

Jason Thresher

Matthew Campbell

Berk Harvey

John Clare

Blake Morris

Justin Grondahl (a)

Timothy Hegarty

Weston Jones (a)

Brendan Hunter

Jack Boulger (a)

Michael Martel

Jud Milam

Matt Parziale (a)

Jacob Finard (a)

Nolan Skaggs (a)


Category #2

Past Massachusetts Open Champions (Effective in 1993, Champions earn a 10-year exemption; pre-1993 Champions are exempt for life)

2022 – Michael Karturde

2021 – Rob Labritz

2020 – Event not held

2019 – Michael Martel

2018 – Jason Thresher

2017 – Jason Thresher

2016 – Jason Thresher

2015 – Joe Harney

2014 – Ian Thimble

2013 – Evan Harmeling


Category #3

NEPGA Section Champions 2018 to 2021, and the top five (5) finishers and ties in the 2022 NEPGA Championship

2018 – Rich Berberian

2019 – Shawn Warren

2020 – Shawn Warren

2021 – Rich Berberian


2022 NEPGA Championship (Top 5 & ties)

Liam Friedman

Shawn Warren

Ed Kirby

Robert Bruso

David Jankowski


Category #4

Top twenty (20) finishers and ties in the 2022 NEPGA Skip Wogan Player of the Year standings

Shawn Warren

Liam Friedman

Rich Berberian

Robert Bruso

Ed Kirby

Greg Kelly

Jeff Martin

Eric Barlow

David Jankowski

Eric Higgins

Todd Scarafoni

Sean Irons

Sean Barrett

Nick Jagoe

David Bennett

Greg Martin

Jason Sedan

Dan Venezio

Brian Spitz

Kirk Hanefeld


Category #5

2022 NEPGA Assistants Champion

Shawn Warren


Category #6

2022 Berkshire Chapter Champion of the NENY PGA

Thomas Sennett


Category #7

2022 State Open Champions from the New England States

MA – Michael Kartrude

RI – Ian Thimble

NH – Ben Reichert

VT – Berk Harvey

CT – Brent Ito

ME – Shawn Warren


Category #8

2022 Jim & Lois Gaquin Memorial Cape Cod Open Champion

Event not held


Category #9

The top Mass Golf member club affiliated finisher in the 2022 Connectitcut Section PGA Player of the Year Standings. Ties in the standings will be broken by the 2021 POY standings (then 2020 etc.).

Chris Tallman – Orchards GC


Category #10

Amateur Champions of the last five (5) years

2022 – Conner Willett

2021 – Michael Thorbjornsen

2020 – Matthew Organisak

2019 – Steven DiLisio

2018 – Patrick Frodigh


Category #11

2022 Amateur Semifinalists

Ryan Downes

Will Frodigh

Billy Argus

Conner Willett


Category #12

2022 Junior Amateur, Senior Amateur, Mid-Amateur, and Amateur Public Links Champions

Junior – John Broderick

Senior – Frank Vana

Mid-Am – Sean Fitzpatrick

APL – Zachary Miller


Category #13

Top ten (10) finishers and ties in the 2022 Richard D. Haskell Player of the Year standings

Matt Parziale

Ethan Whitney

Matthew Naumec

Ryan Downes

Joe Harney

Christian Emmerich

Conner Willett

Jake Shuman

Ricky Stimets

Sean Fitzpatrick


Category #14

2022 Player of the Year, Junior Player of the Year, and Senior Player of the Year

POY  – Matt Parziale

Junior POY – Ryan Downes

Senior POY – Frank Vana, Jr.


Category #15

2023 Open Qualifying Site Host Professional Staff (one per site)

Kernwood CC

CC of Pittsfield

The Ridge Club

Granite Links GC

Foxborough CC

Pleasant Valley CC