Mass Golf | Players of the Year

Player of the Year – Men

The top performing Mass Golf amateur competitors are recognized annually by being crowned the Richard D. Haskell Player of the Year, Christopher Cutler Rich Junior Player of the Year and George M. Cohen Senior Player of the Year. Competitors earn points throughout the season as outlined by the Player of the Year (POY) system that has been established for each group by the Mass Golf Championship committee.

Richard d. haskell player of the year

Named after longtime Mass Golf executive director Richard D. Haskell, the Mass Golf Player of the Year award is presented to the amateur golfer who collects the most points throughout the golf season. Points are awarded based on Mass Golf Player of the Year Point Standings, which takes into account performance at Mass Golf, USGA, New England Golf Association and other Regional events.

The award was first awarded in 1976 to Bruce Douglass from Thorny Lea Golf Club. To date, Frank Vana, Jr. stands as the only player to earn nine MGA Player of the Year honors. The 1990s and 2000s Mass Golf Player of the Decade was named Player of the Year in 1994-95 and from 2001-07.

Christopher cutler rich junior player of the year

Mass Golf first awarded the Christopher Cutler Rich Junior Player of the Year award in 1997. Many of the talented golfers who have earned this honor have gone on to successful high school and collegiate careers.

george m. cohen senior player of the year

In 2003, Mass Golf announced that the Senior Player of the Year award would be named in honor of George M. Cohen, a longtime friend and supporter of Mass Golf. “Mr. Golf”, as most people knew him, passed away in 2002 at the age of 85 but his legacy is one that will be remembered for years to come. Ed Fletcher of Quashnet Valley Country Club had a stranglehold on this award since its inception in 1998 until the 2003.

Any questions about the Player of the Year system can be directed to Kevin Eldridge at


***The cut-off date for 2021 Tri-State Team point earning events is set for Wednesday, September 29th following the conclusion of the 2021 Massachusetts Senior Amateur Championship. Any points earned after Wednesday, September 29th will not be considered in the Tri-State team selection process.***