16 Advance on Final Day of Amateur Public Links Qualifying - MASSGOLF

1-Under 70 Paces 16 Competitors to Championship Proper

For Immediate Release: July 11, 2019

BARNSTABLE, Massachusetts –  On the fourth and final day of qualifying for the 2019 Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship, 16 competitors from Thursday’s qualifier at Olde Barnstable Fairgrounds earned entrance into the Championship Proper being contested at Yarmouth’s Bayberry Hills Golf Course in early August.

An additional five competitors who finished one spot below the final qualifying spot at the site earned alternate status and will be placed on a priority list per the Alternate Policy, which can be found on the Mass Golf Policies and Procedures Page.


In Thursday’s final Amateur Public Links tilt prior to next month’s Championship Proper, New England Country Club’s Brett Joy and Miacomet Golf Club’s Stephen Visco each fired a 1-under 70 to earn co-medalist honors and lead the group of qualifiers into next month’s Proper.

The 44-year old Joy, of Bellingham, tallied four birdies to a bogey and a double en route to his top spot on the leaderboard while Nantucket’s Visco opened up play with back-to-back birdies, carded two bogeys and added a third birdie, all of which came on his front nine. On the back nine, Visco shot par on each of the nine holes.

In addition to Thursday’s co-medalists, reigning Massachusetts Senior Four-Ball champion Joe Walker punched his ticket to the APL Championship, as did the event’s inaugural champion Don Reycroft, who captured the title in 1982 when the event was held at Leo J. Martin Golf Course.

The qualifying scores ranged from Joy and Visco’s 1-under 70 mark to 4-over 75.

Established in 1982, the Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship is open to amateur golfers who are bona fide public course players at a public Mass Golf member club (a course/club that provides playing opportunities for the general public seven days a week) and maintain an up-to-date Mass Golf/GHIN Handicap Index not exceeding 12.0 (as determined by the June 1, 2019 Handicap Revision).

Brett Joy (New England CC) 70
Stephen Visco (Metacomet GC) 70
Joe Walker (Dennis Pines GC) 71
Joseph Hunt (Hyannis GC) 71
Don Reycroft (Bayberry Hills GC) 72
Greg Everson (Hyannis GC) 72
Will Campbell (Captains GC) 72
Jared Pane (Hyannis GC) 72
Trevor Kenney (Olde Barnstable) 72
Nick Grew (Bayberry Hills GC) 73
Kyle Manni (Hyannis GC) 73
Cam Moniz (Swansea CC) 73
Connor Levesque (Olde Barnstable) 74
Mike Reghitto (Hyannis GC) 75
John Keenan Jr. (Bayberry Hills GC) 75
Ed Kangas (Sandwich Hollows) 75


Matthew Croteau (Pinehills GC)
Ed Gula (Dennis Pines GC)
Scott Barker (Olde Barnstable)
Nathan Roberts (Miacomet GC)
Malcolm Sweeney (Falmouth CC)


The 2019 Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship will be contested at Bayberry Hills Golf Course from August 6-7. Qualifying for the Championship Proper is scheduled to take place at six sites from June 25 to July 11.


For complete coverage of the 2019 Massachusetts Amateur Public Links Championship, visit MassGolf.org or follow Mass Golf on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram at @PlayMassGolf and by using the hashtag, #MassAPL.