Six Member Clubs To Host Drive, Chip & Putt Qualifiers in 2019 - MASSGOLF



NORTON, Massachusetts – Six Mass Golf member clubs were among the more than 300 clubs nationwide that will host Drive, Chip and Putt local qualifiers for the upcoming 2019-2020 season, it was announced Wednesday by the USGA, Masters Tournament and the PGA of America. Now entering its seventh full season, the joint junior golf initiative aims to increase participation by offering free nationwide junior golf development competition for boys and girls, ages 7-15.

ONLINE: Drive, Chip & Putt Qualifying Schedule

Beginning locally on Sunday, June 23, Boylston’s Cyprian Keyes Golf Club will host the area’s first of six Drive, Chip & Putt local qualifiers, while junior golfers may also look to advance to the next stage of qualifying from Cranberry Valley GC (June 28), The Bay Club (July 9), Crestview Country Club (July 10), Granite Links (July 24) as well as a to-be-determined date at LeBaron Hills Country Club in Lakeville.

Similar to past years, all boys and girls in respective age divisions will have the opportunity to showcase their golf skills in the areas of driving, chipping, and putting and using a pre-determined scoring system, will accumulate points based on their performances. The top-scorers in each division in local qualifying rounds will advance to the subsequent subregional and regional qualifying rounds, with the top competitors advancing to the 2020 National Finals being held at Augusta National in Augusta, Georgia on Sunday, April 5 to kick off Masters week.


View this post on Instagram

The opportunity for kids ages 7-15 to compete at the 2020 @drivechipandputt National Finals at Augusta begins at six member clubs this summer! More ➡️

A post shared by Mass Golf (@playmassgolf) on

Since the program began in 2013, aspiring junior golfers have been given the opportunity to play with their peers in qualifiers around the country while competing against the best of the best golfers in respective age divisions.

Locally, several competitors with Bay State ties have advanced to the National Finals dating back to the  inaugural 2013 year, while three competitors – Zachary Colon (2017), Alexa Pano (2017, 2016) and Michael Thorbjornsen (2016) – have each been crowned champions in respective divisions.

Online registration will begin on March 5 at