Lederman and Wahlquist are first-time victors at the Allen Bowl Four-Ball - MASSGOLF

Lederman & Wahlquist Capture First Allen Bowl Four-Ball Title

For Immediate Release: August 18, 2022

BREWSTER, Massachusetts – It was a perfect summer day out on the Cape at Captains Golf Course for the Allen Bowl Women’s Four-Ball Tournament. This year’s honors go to the home town team of Gail Lederman (The Captains Course) and Lynn Wahlquist (The Captains Course) who shot 11-over par 83. The duo cruised to a 7-stroke victory over the rest of the field.  While, Joanne Daly (Green Harbor Golf Club) and Jane Norris (Dennis Pines Golf Club) shot 5-under-par 67 to win the low net division.


Propelled by a birdie start from Lederman, the pair got into a groove at their home course and cruised to a comfortable victory. Their card was highlighted with that birdie start on the first hole, a 306-yard par 4, along with six other pars throughout their round. Both partners contributed to the victory and are thrilled to be able to celebrate this achievement at their home course.


The Allen Bowl predates all the way back to 1938. At that time, the event was contested as an individual tournament, not like the team format that exists today. Mrs. Ernest Hooton was the first-ever person to take home to the Eleanor W. Allen Bowl when she won at Oakley Country Club in Watertown.

The event would continue as an individual contest for the next 11 years, with each year bringing a different winner. From 1943 to 1945, the Allen Bowl was not held due to the presence of WWII. 1953 would mark the first year that the tournament switched to the team event its remained to be. Mrs. H.K. Gross and Mrs. E.H. Weiss would capture a victory playing at Belmont Country Club.

Today, the Allen Bowl Four-Ball is comprised of two women teams and entries are open to all amateur golfers with an active Mass Golf/GHIN Handicap index between 18.1 and 54.0. The format of the event is four-ball where each member of the team plays their own ball and the best score is taken for the hole.

The last time the event saw a repeat winning team was in 2013 and 2014. The pair of Barbara Horwood and Karen Fossett took home consecutive Allen Bowl Four-Ball honors. They first did it at William J. Devine Golf Course in Boston, then again the following year at The Captains Golf Course in Brewster.


Visit MassGolf.org and follow @PlayMassGolf on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTube for the latest information on Mass Golf championships and events. To join the conversation, use the hashtag #MassGolf.